FOR FANS OF…

  • Angelina BallerinaAngelina Ballerina Dresses Up is out August 25 along with Angelina Ballerina Loves Ice-Skating!, Angelina and the Princess and Sleepover Party!
  • BabymouseCurtain Call (Babymouse Tales from the Locker Book 4) releases July 14.
  • Bad Guys The Bad Guys in Dawn of the Underlord is out July 7.
  • Curious GeorgeCurious George: Curious About Fall releases July 14.
  • Daniel TigerDaniel’s Apple-Picking Adventure is out August 18. My Family Is Special, A Starry Night in the Neighborhood, and Daniel’s Little Songs are out August 25.
  • DC Super HeroesDC Super Hero Math and Tech is out August 25.
  • Dirty BertieTotally Epic: Burb! Monster! Disco! is out July 9. Trouble! releases July 30.
  • Desmond Cole Ghost PatrolEscape from the Roller Ghoster is out July 21.
  • Diary of a Minecraft ZombieCurse of the Stolen Diamond #26 is out August 1.
  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid Rowley Jefferson’s Awesome Friendly Adventure releases August 4.
  • Franny K. SteinRecipe for Disaster – Book 9 is out July 21.
  • Goddess GirlsAthena & the Island Enchantress – Little Goddess Girls # 5 releases August 25.
  • GoosebumpsThey Call Me the Night Howler! SlappyWorld #11 is out July 7.
  • Heidi Heckelbeck Henry Heckelbeck and the Haunted Hideout (3) is out July 21. Heidi Heckelbeck for Class President releases August 25.
  • Heroes in TrainingAlkyoneus and the Warrior Queen is out August 25.
  • Jake MaddoxHockey Camp Hustle (Jake Maddox JV) releases August 1 along with Home Court.
  • Llama LlamaLlama Llama Thanks-for-Giving is out August 11.
  • Mac B. Kid SpyThe Sound of Danger #5 is out September 1.
  • Magic Tree HouseLate Lunch with Llamas #34 releases July 7 along with Llamas and the Andes Fact Tracker.
  • Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew The Big Island Burglary (Nancy Drew Clue Book 14) is out July 28.
  • Owl DiariesEva in the Spotlight (Owl Diaries #13) releases August 4.
  • Paddington Adventures of Paddington: The Monster Hunt is out July 14.
  • PAW PatrolLet’s Visit the Doctor is out July 7 along with Snuggle Up, Pups.
  • Peppa Pig Unicorns, Mermaids, and More! releases July 7. Peppa’s Pizza Party is out August 4.
  • Pete the Cat Pete the Kitty and the Unicorn’s Missing Colors releases July 7. Pete the Cat’s Happy Halloween is out July 14.
  • Royal Sweets Chocolate Challenge is out August 25.
  • Splat the CatSplat the Cat and the Cat in the Moon is out August 11.
  • Thomas the Tank EngineThe Big Book of Engines releases July 7 along with the Thomas & Friends 2020 Movie Tie-In.
  • Tom GatesBig Book of Fun Stuff is out July 23.
  • Upside Down MagicHide and Seek (Upside-down Magic #7) is out July 7.
  • Who Was…?Who Is David Beckham? releases July 21. Who Was Celia Cruz? is out August 4.
  • Where’s Waldo?Where’s Waldo? Spooky Spotlight Search is out July 14.

FEATURED SERIES CORNER
Arnie the Doughnut

It has been a while since we have seen a new book in the Arnie the Doughnut series.  Watch for the release of Book 5 in the series, Hello, Arnie!, on September 29th.  In this book Arnie asks what kind of donut are YOU? Are you Chocolate, Glazed, or a French Twist donut?  (It’s already making me hungry.)  Don’t miss this latest addition and check out the other books in this series.

 

DID YOU KNOW?
On July 1 TLC released 10 new series!  See if any on the list are YOUR favorites.

  • Cleopatra in Space – You may find this series streaming on Peacock, but there are six books in the series you could be reading. Check out the trouble Cleo gets in – in space AND on earth!
  • Craftily Ever After – If you love to do crafts, this is the series for you. Each book gives instructions on how to make the craft discussed in the story.
  • Dog Diaries – Of course I was all ears when I saw this was added. Junior finds being Raffe’s dog is NOT easy. A hilarious series told by Junior himself.
  • How To Train Your Dragon – Even though the movie in 2019 was supposed to be the LAST movie, there are plenty of books to read in this series about Hiccup and his dragons.
  • I Was a Sixth Grade Alien – Meet the first purple kid, Pleskit, in the sixth grade class and Tim, who always wanted to meet an alien.
  • Jake the Fake – For fans of Big Nate and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, here is another hilarious series to start reading. Jake, the class clown, fakes his way into the Music and Art Academy.
  • Max and the Midknights – Lincoln Pierce, the author of Big Nate,  writes about the adventures of Max and his Uncle Budrick.
  • There’s a … in Your Book – You never know WHAT you might find in your book with this new series.
  • Unicorn Diaries – Do you believe in unicorns? Read about Rainbow Tinseltail who has a rainbow mane, sneezes glitter, and glows when nervous!
  • Where’s Waldo? – I LOVE looking for Waldo! Lots of books in this series to keep you looking for hours!

NEWS FLASH 

  • Can you wait until June 25, 2021 for the new DC Super Heroes movie, The Batman?
  • For My Little Pony fans, Hasbro has announced a new My Little Pony movie will be released September 24, 2021.
  • If you have been watching The Last Kids on Earth series on Netflix, get ready for Book 3 in October, covering The Last Kids on Earth and the Nightmare King. With Book 7, The Last Kids on Earth and the Skeleton Road, releasing September 15, there will be plenty of new episodes to watch!
  • The original Percy Jackson five-book series is coming to Disney+. Season one will feature The Lightning Thief,
    so stay tuned!
  • Many authors are still reading books to you online. Molly Moon’s author, Georgia Bync, reads Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism here.
  • Sony Pictures TV is working on a live action series for television using the Goosebumps Goosebumps was
    on television from 1995 – 1998 and movies came out in 2015 and 2018. With all the Goosebumps books on the shelves, there is plenty of material for another television show.

MY FAVORITE THINGS
Even though you are out of school, you definitely want to keep reading through the summer to stay sharp.  You don’t want to forget how to read.  Have you signed up for any Summer Reading Programs?   While your library may have their own Summer Reading Programs, here are some other ones to keep your reading muscles flexed! HAVE A GREAT SUMMER!

  • Amazon Reading Challenge – Read eight books, bring your list to Amazon Books, receive a Star Reader Certificate. (Amazon Books is in Arizona, California, Colorado, DC, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey,  New York, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, and Washington.)
  • Barnes & Noble Summer Reading Program – Read eight books, turn in your journal, and pick out a free book!
  • Summer Reading Program with Dav Pilkey – Read four books, take your reviews to Books-a-Million, get a free Dog Man logo baseball cap! (Books-a-Million is found all over the US!)
Scroll Up